A green drink every morning

My daily green drink and I'm enjoying it so much!

My daily green drink and I’m enjoying it so much!

My Facebook friends know that I recently tried a program called the 10 Day Detox Diet by Dr. Mark Hymen. As much as I dislike talking about it because it leaves me open to criticism, my weight has always been a challenge. I was a chubby baby, a chubby adolescent and then, in middle school, my mother put me on the Weight Watchers diet with her. I lost a lot of weight right about the same time I was blossoming into young adulthood, and it became almost too much to go from being the chubby girl with a pretty face to someone the boys  noticed. In high school I was on the swim team and we would work out every morning and after school. I thought I was overweight — compared to the other high school girls I was — but I had a lot of muscle mass. I realize now that I’ve been dieting since puberty, and the yo-yo of it all is what has me at this point in my life.

I decided about three years ago to just quit. Get off the stupid diet cycle and work on my internal self. Figure out a way to feel beautiful in the body I have. Last year when I went to the doctor I decided I wanted to get healthy. It was awesome for about 12 weeks and then it just became too hard again. I was following what I thought was the healthy eating plan of whole grains, low fat dairy, protein and more veggies. I lost weight but I was hungry and crabby. I gave up…again.

After coming back from a Disney cruise with my family on Spring Break, something happened during those 10 days of checking out from work completely and just being with the people I love the most in the world. I decided I feel better when I’m trying rather than when I’m giving up. My doctor recommended a book called the Blood Sugar Solution by Dr, Hymen. I went on Amazon and looked for it. That’s when I discovered his newest book the 10 Day Detox Diet. I bought it and read it. Whoa! No sugar, processed foods, gluten, dairy, coffee, alcohol, soda, legumes, whole grains for 10 days. What he promises during the time of cleaning out your body is improved health and more energy.

10daydetoxbookcover

I decided I could do anything for 10 days. Hubby got on board with me. I was so sick the first day by lunch time, I was in shock. Never had any diet hit me this hard and fast. I had awful headaches days 3 and 4. I felt like I had the flu days 5 and 6. Still, I stuck with it. I finally felt better on day 7. By day 9, I was finally in the groove, but I didn’t want to take his suggestion after day 10 of continuing for another 90 days.  I feel like I could write an entire essay on my experience of this detox, but to keep this post as short as I can, I simply want to say that I learned I can live WITHOUT sugar. I know, it sounds so “duh!” But sugar is a big purple-eyed monster to me.

I can honestly say I don’t know what’s going to happen next. I feel vulnerable even putting this out there for anyone to read because my battle with weight is obviously a public thing — you see it on me. However, I feel like I can’t not write about it either because I know there are others who share the struggle and are looking for some help… a tool, a small end of rope to hang on to.

I truly believe that help appears when you need it. However, you also have to be ready for it. My experience with the 10 Day Detox Diet came at the right time when my heart and mind were ready and open to hear it and to look at myself without judgment. It is what it is. I got here how I got here. The only thing to do now is keep going. I have strong motivation for health and well being. My kids are young. I adore my husband. I love my work as an artist and I’m passionate about teaching others cool art techniques so they, too, can stay in touch with their happy creative emotional centers.

While I’m no longer technically on the detox diet, I enjoy my healthy green drinks for breakfast every morning. I’m back to one cup of coffee in the morning with coconut milk (ahhhhhhh coffee!) and I’m staying completely away from carbs (gluten, wheat, rice, legumes), sugar and processed foods. I sincerely hope I’m not in the same place again this time next year (like I was last Spring), but if I am, well, I’ll just do it all over again. Even if I remain the chubby lady with the pretty face for the rest of my life but my insides are healthy and my heart is healthy and my mind is healthy, then heck yes! I’ll be living the life and crooning about it.

To any of you who are struggling, I hope this post helps a little. If nothing else, remember Hope is a thing with feathers. When you let it free it feels so good.

 

28 thoughts on “A green drink every morning

  1. Can’t wait for you to get to Charity Wings Art Center!!! I’m signed up for both classes! I’ll finally be able to show you what you started!!!

  2. Hi Jen, I’ve been on a detox plan for 10 days now and I’m going to keep going. As you, I am giving up caffeine, wheat, sugar, dairy, flour, very low carbs, high protein. Trying to get rid of candida. I’ve been on Caroline Sutherland’s detox program. I can relate to your story – it’s mine too. I wish you only the best.

  3. Laura thanks for the writer comments. I think that always makes me happier than when someone likes my art. I’ve been writing for a lot longer than I’ve been making art so it’s nice to see someone appreciate the words. Go Green!

  4. Donna! I had NO idea you read my blog. Sooooo happy to see you and thanks for leaving a comment. I’m coming to San Diego next weekend to teach. Would love to get a giant old friend hug.

  5. I hope you do Marilyn. I’m not here to advocate the book or a change for anyone by myself. Just sharing my story. ;-) Thrilled it’s working though!

  6. Good for you for being brave enough to write about it! Big HUGS, girl!!! I’m going to check it out.

  7. Thanks for this Jen. As you know, I too, struggle and am scared to death to try to give up the very things I know will literally be the death of me. I am determined to give this a try because I know I am stronger than this! Thanks!

  8. I’m so glad you shared this Jen. My story is very similar to yours–very……so hard. I’m cheering you on! It is funny…sometimes I wish we could see ourselves as everyone else does–it opens a whole different world. You are a beautiful, kind and talented girl–keep going!!!

  9. So proud of you, not just for trying to get healthy, but for writing about, as well. You are such a wonderful writer and I’m sure it is great therapy for you to put it down on paper. Sugar is my enemy, too! We have a love hate relationship. I once read that sugar feeds cancer. Knowing all the damage that sugar causes, it makes good sense. Good luck on this journey. Maybe I will join you :) Cheers to the Green!

  10. Jen You are brave for putting it out there and Im proud of you everyone has there opinion and some people can be very negative and positive .Do what feels right for you girl .

  11. Hey Roxanna, thanks for leaving a comment, girl! Nice to see you on my blog. Wow, I’m impressed with a juice fast. I’ve had friends who do that but I never have. That’s awesome you are feeling so great!

  12. I’m so sorry. I have a family history of it and it’s in the back of my mind as I started this detox diet. You might want to download the Kindle version of the book Bead Therapy Girl. He talks about how eating this way can reverse type 2 diabetes and has people from his program that it helped. Again, just passing along what I read. Not necessarily advocating it, but the book is interesting about how sugar affects the body.

  13. Art Quilt Girl, please know this was just my experiences. Not everyone has these and Dr. Hymen even says for most people they should feel great on day 3. It just took me longer. Don’t let my experiences discourage you, but I totally get what you’re saying about work stress. Hugs to you!

  14. Ahhh thanks Jen. Unfortunately there is judgment everywhere. If it not big then its small or too pretty or not pretty enough. It’s human nature to judge. The trick, I know, is to not let it slow me down. (wink). Thanks for your super kind comments. Much appreciated!

  15. It’s always good to go green! Thanks for sharing your experiences. I can’t think of a better goal to get and be healthy for those you love the most and to do the things that fuels your soul and spirit. I’m cheering for you!

  16. Thank you for sharing this. I wish there was not the judgment; you are such a talented woman and obviously loved by many. Your health is the main concern, but our society seems to judge by what someone has decided is the ideal “look”. You are a beautiful woman and I feel that is both inside and out!!!

  17. Thank you for sharing! I struggle daily and totally understand the struggle. People look at me different, treat me somewhat different. I know this because I wasn’t always over weight. When I am able to retire I can take 10 days to go thru the process, but having to work now, I would not be able to bear feeling that poorly and have to go to work daily. Only a few more years for me. It is something I can look forward to. I have often wondered when the stress of work goes away, would I not need to snack so much…. I am so happy for you!!!!

  18. HI Jen! This is Roxana from Puerto Rico, a huge fan of your work! Casually, Im in the third day of a 5 days juicing fasting, and Im feeling great!!! Even my mind is clearer!! I relate to you in some many ways, and after doing every diet in the world, and not achieving my ideal weight, I decided to eat more healthy. Good luck in your process! If you need a support partner, here I am!!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply!

