My Talisman Word for 2014

JenWOY1lrwm

New Year’s resolutions are just too hard to keep. Like most people, my good intentions the first week of January quickly go out the window long before Valentine’s Day. So when I saw a group of scrapbookers start word of the year projects a while back I, too, decided to skip the whole resolution idea and instead focus on a power word for myself for the year. Being a wordsmith, I responded well to this idea and have incorporated it into my life for past five years now.

Picking my power word is a process of reflection that usually happens the week between Christmas and New Year’s Day. I tend to go over the big events of the past year in my mind’s eye. I think about all the things I’m truly grateful for and send this love and gratitude into the Universe. I also think about what I’d like to accomplish in the next year and write down a list of goals in one of my art journals. Then I pick a word that helps me set my intention for the year. A word that sums up what I hope to accomplish on an individual level and also in my career. For 2013 my word was “Focus.” As you know, there’s a lot going on right now with ICE Resin. My word was appropriate because last year was another huge building block year for our company.

Jen Cushman Talisman necklace

I thought really long and hard about my word for 2014. I thought about the things I love in my life, the challenges I’d like to address and what I want to draw more to me. I’ve been working so much that I really miss spending time with friends and family. My girlfriends have been patient the past couple of years as I’ve been running too hard and fast to get together. I want to make more time for personal connections and real intimacy with the people. On a business level, I’d like to start working a bit more with other likeminded companies and other artists. Being asked to participate in Seth Apter’s book last year was really enjoyable because it made me feel part of a community rather than always working along in my studio/home office. What I want to draw to me in 2014 is to once again feel this strong sense of community the mixed-media art world offers. My word for 2014 is “Collaborate“.

To that end, I made a necklace using ICE Resin, Iced Enamels, our fab Art Mechanique Hobnail Oval. Since hearts are still a huge symbol in my life, I hand-formed a Paperclay heart and painted it with acrylic paints. That gorgeous texture you see was made by adding delicious Relique German Silver on the surface and then a coat of ICE Resin for permanent color.

I hope you read more about our Talisman project over on the ICE Queen blog. There you will learn about the project, who is participating and how you can get involved if you wish. I’m truly hoping this will resonate with you as an artist and that you take the time to make your own power necklace this year. After all, it would be an awesome thing for us to collaborate on!

Here's a selfie of me wearing my new power necklace. Yep, lovin' the red. When it comes to your chakras in the body, red is your base chakra and it represents you family and tribe.

Here’s a selfie of me wearing my new power necklace. Yep, lovin’ the red. When it comes to the body’s  chakras, red is the base chakra and it represents your family and tribe. A great power color and also goes well with my 2014 Talisman word of “Collaborate”.

15 thoughts on “My Talisman Word for 2014

  1. Pingback: The Creative Goddess shares her Talisman : Ice Queen E-Zine

  2. Pingback: Ken Oliver joins us on the Talisman Journey : Ice Queen E-Zine

  3. Pingback: Talisman Week 5 with JoMama – Nurture : Ice Queen E-Zine

  4. Pingback: Love – Week 4 of the Talisman Project : Ice Queen E-Zine

  5. Pingback: Trust – ICE Resin Talisman Project Week 4 : Ice Queen E-Zine

  6. Pingback: Do You Believe? Talisman Project Week 3 : Ice Queen E-Zine

  7. I’ve been on a cruise with my family for the last five days Laura. I think I’ve learned a little but more about peacefulness and my life’s journey! Thanks for your sweet comment. Xo

  8. Jane- I might just have to make you a necklace and give it to you at the next teaching gig where we’re together! Let’s be clear about collaborating this year, ok?

  9. Great pic, Jen! You’re looking more beautiful, than ever. Your necklace simply rocks! Thank you for adding the sweet words of wisdom. It adds a peacefulness to the journey!!

  10. Jen, you and the necklace look amazing and what a great way to set your intention. After reading your blog earlier I just decided what my word for this year will be.

  11. Beautiful writing, Jen, and a fine explanation of a word for the year…my word is “clear.” I made a paper tag to hang on my car rear view mirror. A necklace would be better….
    Xoxo

  12. Pingback: Talisman Project Week 2 with Jen Cushman : Ice Queen E-Zine

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply!

