A Rue Christmas

I hope you’ve been enjoying the Rue Romantique Holiday Blog Hop and the beautiful things showcased yesterday by Kristen Robinson, Jen Crossley, Cindy Cima Edwards and Cindy Bisson. If you missed it, be sure to catch up (links at bottom of this post).  Today’s hop is brought to you today courtesy of Lexi Grenzer, Pamela Hungtinton, Susan Walls and yours truly.

I adore Kristen Robinson’ romantic look when it comes to her jewelry and mixed-media. I’m always captivated by the Victorian-inspired bezels in Kristen’s gorgeous Rue Romantique line with ICE Resin. One would think this line would be artistically challenging for me, as I tend to fall more on the “Bohemian artsy” aesthetic with my work rather than the beautifully polished, but the undulating lines and feminine shapes in Rue always speak to the part of me that loves to dress up for date night with my hubby and wander the aisles of Sephora looking at makeup palettes and pretty packaging.

When it came time to do our ICE Resin Rue Romantique Ornament blog hop, I knew I wanted a part of it. Mostly because Kristen is one of my dearest friends and I’m hugely supportive of her work and career, but also because I wanted to see if I could put my own twist on Victorian Christmas. I wanted to create a substantial piece, incorporate some of my ICE Resin casting work and use Iced Enamels. Naturally, The Relique Ivory and Glitz powders are wonderful with Rue.

Jen Cushman Rue Christmas Photo 1

The resin casting is from an ornamental hardware piece that I picked up at a Paris flea market last year. I have made at least two dozen of these castings for various projects and have brought the object to my workshops. It’s a favorite of my students as well. The finely detailed metalwork in the hardware creates such gorgeous undercuts that it’s one of those ” wow” factor objects for resin casting. I melted Iced Enamels on the casting and then added some Gilder’s Paste in German Silver for the final vintage-looking patina.

Rue Christmas Jen Cushman Photo 2

I used Relique Ivory on the center focal of the bezel and then stamped on it using Kristen’s Love Lines stamp set that she created with Stampington & Co. I sealed that in ICE Resin. To tie the silver of the bezel into the vintage patina of the casting, I also rubbed a little German Silver Gilder’s Paste onto it.

Rue Christmas Jen Cushman Photo 3

To attach the two pieces together, I threaded Kristen’s beautiful red velvet and red organza ribbon through the center holes and tied at the top. A wire wrap in 22 gauge blackened steel wire from Art Mechanique reinforces the tie for strength and works as a design element. To create a hanger, I added a wirewrapped loop to the top of the casting.

While the piece was pretty, I felt like it was too pretty and needed something more. I searched through my stash for this large crystal drop from Connie Crystal and did a chunky, organic wirewrap to gives this part of the piece my touch of a messy, bird’s nest type of feel. If you’ve taken any classes from me or read my books or articles, you’ll know that one of the ways you can always identify my work is that there’s always a touch of chaos or wildness in my pieces.

RueChristmas2

The piece ended up being a rather large ornament. I can see it on a big tree that’s taking center stage in the ballroom of an old Southern mansion. If you don’t happen to live in a 17- bedroom house, I think it would be lovely to use as a holiday home décor piece.

Here’s some more exciting news, Kristen and ICE Resin have teamed up with Interweave to create an exclusive Handmade Ornament Kit, which included Kristen’s DVD Romantic Bezels, her brand new book Making Etched Metal Jewelry, along with Rue Romantique bezels, Iced Enamels in Relique German Silver and more. Here’s more information to check it out.

handmadeornamentsheader600

I hope you found this inspirational. Be sure to check out all the amazing artists from the ICE Resin 2013 Creative Team on our ICE Queen eZine company blog to see what beautiful things they’ve made this holiday season with Rue.  Also, be sure to come back to the company blog tomorrow as Lesley Venable, JoMama Jones, Sandy Martin and Susan Weckesser are rounding out the 3-days hop with some gorgeous designs.

Here’s links to the hop:

You can look forward to these ornaments:
Saturday, Nov. 9
Sunday, Nov. 10

7 thoughts on “A Rue Christmas

  1. I love the length of this ornament!!! It would definitely be the shining star of any tree! It would even look beautiful hanging on a door or in a window! Love the patina and I really have to get some o the gilder’s paste that I keep reading about! It sounds like it is a great medium to use for so many projects!!! TFS!

  2. A beautiful piece with so many details – but way to big for my humble tree! It would make a great home dec piece – and could be used all year long with that fabulous message!

  3. Jen, I’m so thankful to have found you, your Blog and getting introduced to all the other talented artist on this ornament Hop, has been fun and a true gift for me. Where I have I been?! Your ornament is gorgeous and I love the crystal drop. It was the perfect finishing touch. So glad you have embraced your “chaos” for your pieces are perfectly balanced and oh so fabulous. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply!

