Calling all Art Journalers…

cover image

Oh yeah, there’s a new eMag in town from the fine folks at Cloth, Paper, Scissors. Art Journaling Exposed was such a hit that über editor Jenn Mason followed up a second edition filled with more great inspiration and education for people like myself who love art journaling.

Now, I have to admit, that I’m not nearly as prolific in this art genre as I would like to be. I have so many mixed-media jewelry ideas in my sketchbook that when I get creative time I tend to spend it at my bench working with metal and/or resin. Luckily, almost every Saturday morning is playful art time in my studio with my 3-year-old daughter where we get out the paints, paper and pens for a couple of hours of special mother/daughter time. Once I get her paint palette all set up at the big round table in my studio, I’m free to grab a journal of my own to work on. Sometimes she wants to dig into my collection of rubber stamps and other times we grab my big box of recycled objects for mark making.

artjournaling2wordmuse

When I read Art Journaling Exposed 2 last night, I was so inspired that I immediately wished for Saturday morning. My friends and fellow artists/instructors in the publication got my creative wheels turning with their responses to the creative prompts Jenn and her team sought from us. Heck yes, you can bet I’m trying out Indian Yellow, Leaf Green and Magenta as my next color combination, as suggested by the fabulously talented Jenny Cochran Lee. I also adored the video of my dear friend Kari McKnight Holbrook’s technique of raindrops on backgrounds. Seriously fun stuff. I also couldn’t help having my face split into a big happy grin to see one of my BFFs Kristen Robinson show how to make an awesomely up cycled journal from plastic cereal bags. Trash art where there’s nothing trashy about it.

Of course, it wasn’t quite as easy watching myself on video in this publication showing how to make ICE Resin paper. (This was shot, but the way, when I was in Colorado last October to shoot my DVD Breaking Out of the Mold). But then again, I don’t know any one who actually enjoys watching themselves on film. My journal pages look great though when the resin is applied to it, so I’m sure there will be lots of readers out there who will want to try out a cool new technique. I’m truly thrilled for the opportunity to be part of this new eMag.

Artjournalingexposed2tape

If any of this piques your interest, here is the link to Art Journaling Exposed 2 at the Interweave store. (I know the image above looks like you can click those video links, but alas they are only screen shots from the eMag). Also, if you haven’t yet joined the Cloth, Paper, Scissors online community and sign up now, you can get a free copy of the Art Journaling Exposed 1.

Here’s wishing you a truly Artful day!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply!

