Happy Hump Day Giveaway

new metalsmithing bookI woke up on the sunny side of the street today after a terrible stress headache that lasted all day yesterday. There are times when all the different things we’re juggling in the air will collide on the same day and then all I want is to crawl back into bed and fast forward to another day. Luckily, the yucky headachy days are few and far between. Anyhoo…..since I am HAPPY, happy, happy today and because I have NOT been able to get my website re-done as of yet with the back-to-back shows, I decided it was time to finally do a book giveaway on my blog.

If you’ve been reading and following my journey, you know that Making Metal Jewelry; How to Stamp, Form, Forge and Fold Metal Jewelry Designs is out in major bookstores now. (Yippee!) It’s also available on Amazon. But in order to get a signed copy, you gotta come to me. So, please leave a comment about….hmmmmmm…let’s go with a broad category of jewelry. Tell me what is your favorite kind of jewelry, or what you wish your sweetheart would buy you, or what pieces you long to create, or if you already have my book what project is your favorite one. All I’m looking for is something fun to read about one of my favorite art subjects — Jewelry!

Not only will you get a signed copy of the book, but you will also get an ICE Resin plunger and some of our Art Mechanique cold connection micro nuts and screws. I will keep the giveaway up until Friday morning 8 a.m. MST. And never fear, if you don’t win this one, there will be another give away soon over on the ICE Queen eZine while we are teaching workshops at the To Bead True Blue show in Tucson.

35 thoughts on “Happy Hump Day Giveaway

  1. G’dayJen
    well I’m still finding my way in jewellery making…not lost just rambling along a creative path and learning as I go, tripping over rocks(read hitting fingers with hammer, burning self on torch and cutting hands with sharp metal edges etc LOL) and problem solving as I go. I’ve recently been shown how to puff metal so have started a love of all things puffed…like puffy steampunk metal heart necklaces. I love etching metals and I particularly love kinetic components like doors that open and cogs or arrows that move. I lean to vintage strongly but suspect that will change as I learn more. I just need access to more information to do it!

  2. Thanks for the opportunity to win your new book. I like all jewelry and am just keen to get past my block on using jewelers saw and my torch. Again thanks for the giveaway.

  3. I have enjoyed your last book and love making jewelry with ice resin and a vintage feel. I am now working with metal, etching, filing, and making cold joints. I am pushing myself and your book sounds wonderful. Congratulations!

  4. I’m dreaming of forging metal bezels, filling them up with found objects and drizzling ice over them and discovering endless possibilities….

  5. I love creating or receiving pieces that are vintage. There is nothing better than a piece of the past and wondering what kind of journeys that piece has taken. I would love to win your book to learn some new techniques to use and incorporate some of my vintaginess into each new piece of jewelry.

  6. Well this will be about a piece of jewerly I have always wanted… I have an animal that I have had a very strong connection to since Before I can even remember.. I know that sound funny but I will explain.. The animal is Elephants.. when I was little I had an great aunt.. Her name was evelyn.. My family said the only thing I would ever call her was Aunt Elephant… so that is what she became.. my Aunt elephant.. LOL.. Elephants have been a strong force in my life.. depending on your beliefs.. this is my spirit animal.. or my totem animal.. I am drawn to them.. I have dreamed about them… I collect them.. it truly is a passion with me and is a very personal thing.. So here is where the jewerly comes in… since I was younger.. I have this vision… of an elephant wedding ring.. there would be two beautifully detailed elephants facing different directions so their trunks connect into a circle and with in the circle would be a lovely diamond.. there would also be tiny diamonds for their eyes.. The band and the elephants trunks the symbol of eternity.. devotion to one another.. joining my two passions my elephants and my soulmate forever… This is my dream it may never come true.. but it is a wonderful dream that means the world to me…

  7. Congrats on your new book! I have Resinate and love it. Rings would be my favorite jewelry with bracelets a close second because I can look at my hands and wrists for an instant and beautiful color pick-me-up. I would love to create that yummy ring on the cover!

  8. I love learning new techniques, and my go to for inspiration is gorgeous jewelry books. Your wonderful book would definitely take care of both, Jen! :) Thanks for the opportunity to win, I’d LOVE to check it out. Congrats!!

  9. Lexi steered me to you wonderful page. Congratulations on your book, it sounds amazing. I am a newbie to the jewelry world. Just started playing around with some themes. My favorite is theme for the moment is old world reliquary. I am finally able to destash this enormous stash of santos, milagros, and guadalupes I have been hording for years. I also just started hammering out spoons for bezels and playing with soldering and resin. ::swoon::

  10. Dipping my toe into the wonderful waters of making jewelry…even had a lesson in torch soldering, which was fun after I overcame my fear! Would love to win a copy of your book. It will be most inspiring, and a “badge of courage” for this beginner!

  11. What a wonderful chance… I can wish!
    I love rings, big rings and I love pendants, big pendants!!! I also love texture and colour so I look for inspiration and hope I win your fabulous book etc.,
    JoZarty

  12. Your book is on my wish list… I’ve only recently ventured into jewelry making and love resin and assemblage pieces and finding the right balance between pieces that aren’t too heavy, but still have a presence. Would love to learn more metal techniques…

  13. I would so love to win an autographed copy of your book. I was hooked just looking at the cover. I love the ring and free form flower. Most of all I would like to learn to make the ring shank, I have tried making my own but without the little tricks, it is difficult and time consuming and the results are not quite right.

  14. My favorite type of jewelry is anything with a secret. I love secret compartments and hidden messages, things that are only known to the person who buys the piece and whomever wears it…and of course the clever jeweler!
    Cheers!

  15. Oooh, I love making jewelry, but my heart really yearns to expand into more metalworking. I want to hammer and use a metal saw and solder and do fold-forming and fuse silver and all of those wonderful things! I can’t wait to read your book, and though I’d love a autographed copy, I’ll be getting it either way! =)

  16. Congrats on the new book and thanks for the chance to win a copy! I haven’t had the pleasure of trying ICE resin yet, or making my own jewelry, but I do love jewelry, all kinds. I love to shop at craft fairs and find one of a kind pieces. I especially enjoy earrings and necklaces, although bracelets and rings are fun too. I guess the one thing I have always secretly wished for would be a beautiful pair of diamond earrings, sigh, not gonna happen, but a girl can lays dream, right?!

  17. My favorite jewelry is rings (I need more fingers!)
    I wish my sweetheart would buy me MORE JEWELRY TOOLS!
    and..I long to create a piece that I can manufacture :]
    Congrats on your book!

  18. I love all jewelry. One of the most interesting aspects of being able to create jewelry is to discover all of the different ways there are to make jewelry and the different materials. Right now, I’m particularly fascinated by soutache after seeing some spectacular creations. I’m not sure, though, that I will ever try creating a piece with it, because I’m more of a metals person. Lately, I’ve been playing with wire and dabbling a bit with sheet metal. So far, I have texturing down but I still need to work on stamping. I’m hoping to take a riviting class soon. I’m figuring your new book will be very inspiring. You already inspired me to buy the Ice Resin although it has been sitting in a cubby for months. Once I locate where I put the bezels that I bought at the same time, I’m going to take the plunge and try it out.

  19. I am so excited for the chance to win an autographed copy of your amazingly, inspiring book on making metal jewelery!! I have been a fan of your resin jewelery and have actually been dreaming of trying that, I love learning new things and there are sooo many things that you can teach us Jen! I am fond of etched brass/copper and silver pieces with semi-precious stones, wood with brass or copper pieces and of course swarovski anything! Thank you for this opportunity Jen! I am glad that your headache is gone. I do know what those are like!

  20. Hi Jen, congratulations on your new book which I would love to own. I would like to be a proper mixed media jewellery artist like you and I was lucky enough to win a necklace designed by you at Christmas on the Ice Queen blog as well as some industrial chic goodies. So I love mixed media, assemblage, upcycled style jewellery and antique jewellery. I haven’t got to grips with cold connections yet so that is on my to do list. I would also like to try the cold enamels, is that how you coloured the ring on the books front cover? Thank you for the inspiration and fab giveaway. Gill from Northern Ireland.

  21. Hi Jen – Congrats to you! I haven’t had a chance to see the projects inside your book but if they’re reflective of your cover ring, they will not disappoint! As I’m sure you already know, metal is my passion! I’m happy you’re feeling happy today!! :)

  22. I would love to win your book, Jen! You do AZ proud!

    On my workbench right now….repurposed findings ~ lots of wire ~ a HUGE pair of bottles of ICE Resin (wink-wink) ~ and beads, beads, beads ;o}

  23. I splurged one year and went to a workshop in Philadelphia where you were teaching a mini journal class. It was a small book with metal covers that can be worn as a necklace. I remember the class was directly opposite a class by Susan Lenart Kazmer and I emailed you about it. You told me I should take Susan’s class (which was very sweet of you and I LOVE Susan, so no issue there). But I have been obsessed with finding this class with you again. I search the internet constantly for it and look at all the “fests” to see if you are teaching it. I hope to find it some day soon! :) In the meantime, I will search out your book and look for more inspiration there! <3

  24. I have enjoyed you first book so much and have been looking forward to this one.

    Right now favorite type of jewelry is found object jewelry. I also really like anything foldformed.

  25. Your book looks like just what I need to get creating again. I would love to make myself a chunky ring and maybe a cool bracelet for my daughter.
    (Hat tip to Jenny Lee for the Facebook share – that’s how I found you!)

  26. No, I would love to win your book, regardless of what Brenda and Jenny have to say! (sorry ladies no offense meant, just keeping it real!) I love to learn new techniques with anything that I do and that includes jewelry. I am new to making jewelry and still new using ice resin, so I am still experimenting. As for a style, it changes. I like to make different things. I now want to start adding stuff to my resin so that it is colored or has color floating in it. Just learn to better utilize the properties of the material. Having peeked into your book I know it contains a whole new world to explore. can’t wait!

  27. Jen – You hit on two things I am yearning to learn about – ICE Resin and cold connections! I can see I will have to have your book, one way or another (winning it or buying it).

  28. Oh how I would love to win your book (autographed!) I have always wanted to play around with metal jewelry making, but to be honest… I’m scared! I know your book would be just the confidence boost I would need to get rolling with it. As far as what I would like to create, well… I love that ring right on the cover! Adorable!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply!

