The Whirlwind of 2012

Ta-daaaaa!!! Here is the cover for my brand new DVD on making molds and casting found objects.

Ta-daaaaa!!! Here is the cover for my brand new DVD on making molds and casting found objects.

I know I wrote about filming for Cloth, Paper, Scissors back in November at the Interweave headquarters in Loveland, Colo. It’s hard to believe that my DVD, Breaking Out of the Mold is already available now for pre-order and instant download at the Interweave store. Wowza, let me tell you DVDs move at a breakneck pace as compared to books! I also wanted to let you know that I had the sincere pleasure of meeting another mixed-media artist at the filming; Jenny Cochran Lee. Jenny’s work is incredible. I don’t sew hardly a stitch, so to see her textile work is just jaw dropping to me. I also want to thank Jenny because she did a wonderful post on me and my DVD on her blog today.

There are so many amazing things hitting all at the same time that it’s making my head spin! All of these were in the works last year and I was running as fast as I could to keep up with them all. Seriously, I look back at 2012 and shake my head at how in the heck we managed to get it all done. Finishing my new book with North Light, new product development with ICE Resin, a DVD and a new column with Cloth, Paper, Scissors and also the Designer Showcase next month with Belle Armoire Jewelry in addition to my normal Art Chooses You column for Stampington. When I meet someone and they ask me what I do, I’m not sure quite how to respond so I simply say I’m an artist and a writer.

Life was so busy last year that I really want to take a moment to thank my amazing husband and mother-in-law on my blog (even though neither of them read it. LOL). They were there for me every step of the way, cheering me on and making sure my kids were fed, clothed and happy. I also want to thank my off-the-charts-talented and totally brilliant business partner Susan Lenart Kazmer, who has been going even harder and longer than I have to run our company, while still managing to dream up endless amounts of creative ideas, building two lines (Industrial Chic for Michaels and the new Media Mixage with Spellbinders that debuted at CHA), teaching workshops, running the ICE Resin office and home front, publishing articles and writing her new book, “Resin Alchemy” that is due out in June with Interweave. (Not to mention raising two teenagers and teaching a workshop in France this summer). Then there was the other person who was standing by my side this past year. Kristen Robinson spent 2012 teaching, building her brand new signature line Rue Romantique, publishing articles, doing a DVD for Cloth, Paper, Scissors and writing her second book — as yet untitled — for North Light that’s due out this Fall.

One of the most interesting parts of all of this to me is that the three of us had to keep completely quiet on all that was going on. Sure, bits and pieces here and there were shared on blogs and social media, but most of the time I told Susan and Kristen that it looked like we were all taking long naps in 2012.

Silly me, I didn't get a picture of me and Susan at CHA. Here is one of us shopping at the flea markets in the South of France this summer.

Silly me, I didn’t get a picture of me and Susan at CHA. Here is one of us shopping at the flea markets in the South of France this summer.

My father used to always say I couldn’t keep a secret if my life depended on it. I can say now that he was 100% wrong. I don’t really care for keeping secrets because I’m just the type of person who likes to share. The best part right now is that I can finally breathe. The cats are out of the bag. The only thing left to do is tell the world about all our new adventures and hope people see and respond to the kind of passion we’ve put into our first real love – Mixed-media ART! As for my next goal in 2013, it really is getting to take that long nap I keep talking about.

Kristen and me at Winter CHA 2013.

Kristen and me at Winter CHA 2013.

To everyone who has hung in there with me on my blog this past year, thank you. This goes the same for the new friendships I’ve made on Facebook and the incredible women (and a few men) whom I have met at workshops across the country. I really hope that if no other message comes out of anything that I do it’s this one: Dreams do come true. Nothing is unattainable. You don’t have to be the most talented person on the block, or the skinniest or the prettiest or the most congenial. All you have to be is yourself. Oh, and it helps to also link arms with some pretty amazing friends along the way who always have your back in any situation. (grin)!

15 thoughts on “The Whirlwind of 2012

  1. Oh my goodness Laurie. Your work is so beautiful. You have really done some amazing work with ICE Resin. I hope you are following up with Carol for the guest blogger post. :-D

  2. Beautifully said. Congratulations! And, I know this is shocking but I have mine pre-ordered! You are an inspiration to those of us at home not aspiring to anything but just trying to do something that looks halfway decent!

  3. 2012 was amazing and I know 2013 will be even better! Jen, your talent, creativity, amazing spirit, determination and willingness to share the love with all is a true gift!
    Love You Sweet Friend!

  4. You’ve accomplished a HUGE breadth of work! Incredible…and you fit in travel! Take that nap, you deserve every minute of it! Tanks for all your constant inspiration.

  5. Jen – your excitement is contagious! I love your product and look forward to working with you more this year!
    Kim

  6. Wow, what a year! Next book for you… how you managed all that! Congratulations on all the successes. I know they were very hard-earned and are backed up by lots of sweat, frustrations, and maybe even a few tears here and there. Thanks for working with me on the blog post. You are an inspiration!

  7. Wow Jen. Congratulations on all your accomplishments in 2012. You are such an amazing artist and an inspiration. I have a feeling that 2013 is shaping up to be a banner year too. Thank you so much for sharing your love and your art with us. Ken

  8. Thanks Cindy. I cannot believe we did not get a picture together at CHA or with our mustaches. Where the heck was my head! I hope we get to spend some time together in 2013. I love love your work!

  9. Wow thanks Peggy. High school was such an eternity ago that I can’t even remember what I was like way back then. LOL. It is awesome that you found me on Facebook and checked in again. You were one of the people I was talking about to with new Facebook friends, well old friends back in touch is more accurate. Girl, I would love to have you in a class. Art Unraveled is in August and it’s local. I’m just sayin’…

  10. Jen you are one of the people who always have my back too. You know it goes both ways. I truly, truly value our friendship even though we have never gotten to meet in real life yet. This is the year for that one, baby!

  11. How excited I am for you Jen what a wonderful year,many hours of hard work,years of hard work are paying off for you.Its not easy being a mum and going for our dreams.You are surrounded by inspiring strong woman who have shown you that you can do it all,with love and support of your family and your friends.Congratulations I wish I was half the woman you are.

  12. Jen, I remember your enthusiasm for life and creativity when we were in school together. I think it has served you well. Congratulations on all of the success with your artistic products and creative classes. I would love to take a class sometime in the near future. Thanks for continuing to be the you that I remember. Sincerely, Peggy McCue Hutchison

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply!

